South Carolina high school realignments are out, shake-up on the way for some Aiken Area schools

by jovan1984

Columbia — The South Carolina High School League (SCHSL) has released its preliminary biennial region realignments.

Here’s a look at who will be where:

Region 5-AAAA will have Aiken, Midland Valley, North Augusta and South Aiken. The other schools are Irmo and Airport.

Region 5-AAA will have Fox Creek, Orangeburg-Wilkinson and Thurmond. The others in that region are Brookland-Cayce, Gilbert and Swansea.

Region 5-AA will have Barnwell, Edisto, Silver Bluff and Wade Hampton (H). The other school in the region is Pelion.

Lake Marion is the lone local school in Region 6-AA. The Wild Gators are joined by Burke, Philip Simmons, Ridgeland-Hardeeville, Timberland and Woodland.

McCormick is the lone local school in Region 1-A. The Chiefs will be joined by Calhoun Falls, Dixie, Southside Christian, Ware Shoals and Whitmire. The South Carolina School for the Deaf and Blind (SCSDB) plays a non-region football schedule. High Point Academy does not play football.

Region 3-A is where you will find the most local schools on this side of the Savannah, with seven of the eight schools being local: Blackville-Hilda, Denmark-Olar, Hunter-Kinard-Tyler, North, Ridge Spring-Monetta, Wagener-Salley and Williston-Elko representing the region. Calhoun County is the eighth school making up Region 3-A.

Last but not least, we go to Region 6-A, where there are five schools which are local to that region: Allendale-Fairfax, Bamberg-Ehrhardt, Bethune-Bowman, Branchville and Estill. Those are the football playing schools in the region. Polaris Tech, Royal Live Oak and Bridges Prep do not play football.