Tropical Storm Warning for southern CSRA

by jovan1984


Once again, severe weather is on the horizon.

It was barely five weeks ago when we posted about Hermine. Now, Matthew.

The National Hurricane Center in Miami, Fla. has issued a Tropical Storm Warning for all areas within 100 miles of the Coastal Region of South Carolina and the Lowcountry region of Georgia. In the Central Savannah River Area, this includes eight counties (four from each state):

In Georgia:

Bulloch County

Emanuel County

Jenkins County

Screven County

In South Carolina:

Allendale County

Bamberg County

Barnwell County

Hampton County

The Tropical Storm Warning begins at noon Friday and is in effect until further notice.

These eight counties are also under a Flood Watch, as issued by the Storm Prediction Center in Norman, Okla. Three other counties further north were also included in the Flood Watch:

Burke County in Georgia

In South Carolina:

Aiken County

Orangeburg County

President Obama has declared Georgia and South Carolina as being in a federal state of emergency, meaning disaster funds can be accessed immediately after the event ends.

As a result, schools and local government buildings in all of these counties are closed until further notice.

UPDATE @ 12:08 Friday: The National Weather Service in Columbia has issued a High Wind Warning for Orangeburg County. This warning WILL NOT be in effect for Bamberg and Barnwell counties as they are under a Tropical Storm Warning.

UPDATE @ 12:13 Friday: President Obama has declared a federal state of emergency for the State of Georgia.

[Image of Matthew aftermath in Haiti via The End Time Headlines.]