Luke Donald, top ranked golfer in 2012, leads current top ranked golfer by a single stroke; rain chances increase for cut day

by jovan1984


HILTON HEAD ISLAND — The last time prior to today that a top ranked golfer was at Harbour Town, it was in 2012.

Jason Day didn’t disappoint, going to the clubhouse one stroke behind Luke Donald, who was the previous world #1 to stop at the Beaufort County golf club.

Mr. Donald is at five under par, Mr. Day is tied for P2 with the 2014 winner, Matt Kuchar, at four under.  Mr. Kuchar scored the chip-in knockout on the 72d hole of the tournament against Mr. Donald 24 months ago.

Mr. Day would have been tied for the lead if not for a bogey on 18.

“It’s going to be tough competition over the next three days,” said Mr. Day.  “But once again the weather is going to be a big factor in that.  More of a mental grind and physical grind than anything — you’ve just got to keep yourself in it.”

“I think just in general it’s been a tough couple years for me,” said Mr. Donald, who said his blood was “boiling” after missing the Masters in Augusta, Ga. for the first time in 12 years.  “I certainly feel like my game isn’t very far away, but the results certainly haven’t matched what I think I’m capable of.”

That’s a big difference.  Those shots add up quickly,” he added.  “Getting those back will hopefully see me playing a little better and getting my name up in those leaderboards.”


The weather held off today.  It likely won’t for Cut Day.

At 7:07, rain will be likely – at a 64% chance – with a temperature of 58°f.

At 8:47, there will be a 64% chance of showers and a temperature of 59°f.

At 11:47, the temperature will be at 61°f with a 56% chance of showers.

At 13:27, the temperature will be 62°f and a 53% chance of showers.

At 16:00, there will be a 48% chance of rain showers and a temperature of 63°f.

At 19:00, there will be a 44% chance of rain and a temperature of 62°f.


Here are the tee times for the second round of the RBC Heritage:

First Tee

7:10 a.m. – Jerry Kelly; Spencer Levin; Chad Collins.

7:20 a.m. – Boo Weekley; Jason Gore; Roberto Castro.

7:30 a.m. – Zac Blair; Andres Gonzales; Sung King.

7:40 a.m. – Danny Lee; Ben Crane; Ernie Els.

7:50 a.m. – Tony Finau; Ben Martin; Mike Weir.

8 a.m. – Vaughn Taylor; Seung-Yul Noh; Vijay Singh.

8:10 a.m. – Matt Jones; Stuart Appleby; Paul Casey.

8:20 a.m. – Brendan Steele; Ricky Barnes; Steve Wheatcroft.

8:30 a.m. – Carl Pettersson; Tyrone Van Aswegen; Mark Hubbard.

8:40 a.m. – Colt Knost; Justin Hicks; Carlos Ortiz.

8:50 a.m. – Hiroshi Iwata; Tyler Aldridge; Ryan Ruffels.

11:50 a.m. – Shawn Stefani; Francesco Molinari; Si Woo Kim.

Noon – Tommy Gainey; Will MacKenzie; Hudson Swafford.

12:10 p.m. – Kyle Stanley; Lucas Glover; Luke List.

12:20 p.m. – Russell Knox; Brendon Todd; Harris English.

12:30 p.m. – Chris Kirk; John Senden; Rory Sabbatini.

12:40 p.m. – Kevin Kiser; Justin Thomas; Zach Johnson.

12:50 p.m. – Jason Dufner; Davis Love III; Matt Kuchar.

1 p.m. – Jason Bohn; Chad Campbell; Jamie Lovemark.

1:10 p.m. – Ken Duke; Brendon de Jonge; William McGirt.

1:20 p.m. – George McNeill; Jason Kokrak; Will Wilcox.

1:30 p.m. – Sam Saunders; Wes Roach; Bronson Burgoon.


10th Tee

7:10 a.m. – Ian Poulter; Graham DeLaet; Kevin Chappell.

7:20 a.m. – Mark Wilson; Adam Hadwin; Scott Pinckney.

7:30 a.m. – Bryce Molder; Kyle Reifers; Brett Stegmaier.

7:40 a.m. – David Lingmerth; Camilo Villegas; Branden Grace.

7:50 a.m. – Jim Herman; Chesson Hadley; Justin Leonard.

8 a.m. – Graeme McDowell; Billy Horschel; Webb Simpson.

8:10 a.m. – Jason Day; Brandt Snedeker; Bill Haas.

8:20 a.m. – Robert Allenby; Erik Compton; Matthew Fitzpatrick.

8:30 a.m. – Scott Brown; Aaron Baddeley; Chris Stroud.

8:40 a.m. – Marc Leishman; Mark Hoffman; Whee Kim.

8:50 a.m. – Michael Kim; Bryson DeChambeau; Kelly Mitchum.

11:50 a.m. – Sean O’Hair; David Hearn; Greg Owen.

Noon – Kevin Na; Ryan Palmer; Charles Howell III.

12:10 p.m. – Jeff Overton; Steve Marino; Blayne Barber.

12:20 p.m. – Fabian Gomez; Robert Streb; Luke Donald.

12:30 p.m. – Peter Malnati; J.J. Henry; Brian Harman.

12:40 p.m. – James Hahn; David Toms; Stewart Cink.

12:50 p.m. – Nick Taylor; Geoff Oglivy; Russell Henley.

1 p.m. – Charley Hoffman; Brian Gay; K.J. Choi.

1:10 p.m. – Jon Curran; Patton Kizzire; Harold Varner III.

1:20 p.m. – Daniel Summerhays; Derek Fathauer; Thongchai Jaidee.

1:30 p.m. – Johnson Wagner; Chez Reavie; Jeff Maggert.