Aiken Area Progressive

Progressive blog for the Central Savannah River Area.

Federal Bureau of Investigation’s Aiken Office investigating ADPS for civil rights violations


AIKEN, S.C. — An incident of public indecency committed by deputies from the Aiken Department of Public Safety eighteen months ago has caused the nation’s top law enforcement agency to step in and investigate four ADPS deputies.

The investigation comes as a couple, whose names will not be provided here, filed a lawsuit against both the department and the city over the invasive search that also violated Aiken’s 1992 public indecency ordinance, which calls for the prosecution of any one who procures a person to be in a state of nudity in a public place. That ordinance doesn’t make any exceptions for police searches, regardless of whether such a search is legal or not (and this search was illegal anyways).  Videos of the stop are in federal civil court in Aiken. Read the rest of this entry »

RBC Heritage First Round Weather


HILTON HEAD ISLAND — All the practicing and practice rounds are over and done.  The tournament gets under way Thursday.  Scattered showers are in the forecast throughout the first round.

At 7:07, there will be a 28% chance of showers and a temperature of 58°f.

At 8:47, there will be a 30% chance of showers and a temperature of 58°f.

At 11:47, there will be a 29% chance of showers with a temperature of 60°f.

At 13:27, there will be a 27% chance of showers with a temperature of 62°f.

At 16:00, there will be a 30% chance of showers and a temperature of 63°f.

At 19:00, there will be a 48% chance of light rain and a temperature of 60°f.

To see the tee times, click here.

Information from: National Weather Service Charleston

Tee times for the first round of the RBC Heritage


HILTON HEAD ISLAND — Tee times for the first round Thursday at the RBC Heritage:

First Tee

7:10 a.m. — Sean O’Hair; David Hearn; Greg Owen.

7:20 a.m. — Kevin Na; Ryan Palmer; Charles Howell III.

7:30 a.m. — Jeff Overton; Steve Marino; Blayne Barber.

7:40 a.m. — Fabian Gomez; Robert Streb; Luke Donald.

7:50 a.m. — Peter Malnati; J.J. Henry; Brian Harman.

8 a.m. — James Hahn; David Toms; Stewart Cink.

8:10 a.m. — Nick Taylor; Geoff Oglivy; Russell Henley.

8:20 a.m. — Charley Hoffman; Brian Gay; K.J. Choi.

8:30 a.m. — Jon Curran; Patton Kizzire; Harold Varner III.

8:40 a.m. — Daniel Summerhays; Derek Fathauer; Thongchai Jaidee.

8:50 a.m. — Johnson Wagner; Chez Reavie; Jeff Maggert.

11:50 a.m. — Ian Poulter; Graham DeLaet; Kevin Chappell.

12 p.m. — Mark Wilson; Adam Hadwin; Scott Pinckney.

12:10 p.m. — Bryce Molder; Kyle Reifers; Brett Stegmaier.

12:20 p.m. — David Lingmerth; Camilo Villegas; Branden Grace.

12:30 p.m. — Jim Herman; Chesson Hadley; Justin Leonard.

12:40 p.m. — Graeme McDowell; Billy Horschel; Webb Simpson.

12:50 p.m. — Jason Day; Brandt Snedeker; Bill Haas.

1 p.m. — Robert Allenby; Erik Compton; Matthew Fitzpatrick.

1:10 p.m. — Scott Brown; Aaron Baddeley; Chris Stroud.

1:20 p.m. — Marc Leishman; Mark Hoffman; Whee Kim.

1:30 p.m. — Michael Kim; Bryson DeChambeau; Kelly Mitchum.

10th Tee

7:10 a.m. — Shawn Stefani; Francesco Molinari; Si Woo Kim.

7:20 a.m. — Tommy Gainey; Will MacKenzie; Hudson Swafford.

7:30 a.m. — Kyle Stanley; Lucas Glover; Luke List.

7:40 a.m. — Russell Knox; Brendon Todd; Harris English.

7:50 a.m. — Chris Kirk; John Senden; Rory Sabbatini.

8 a.m. — Kevin Kiser; Justin Thomas; Zach Johnson.

8:10 a.m. — Jason Dufner; Davis Love III; Matt Kuchar.

8:20 a.m. — Jason Bohn; Chad Campbell; Jamie Lovemark.

8:30 a.m. — Ken Duke; Brendon de Jonge; William McGirt.

8:40 a.m. — George McNeill; Jason Kokrak; Will Wilcox.

8:50 a.m. — Sam Saunders; Wes Roach; Bronson Burgoon.

11:50 a.m — Jerry Kelly; Spencer Levin; Chad Collins.

12 p.m. — Boo Weekley; Jason Gore; Roberto Castro.

12:10 p.m. — Zac Blair; Andres Gonzales; Sung King.

12:20 p.m. — Danny Lee; Ben Crane; Ernie Els.

12:30 p.m. — Tony Finau; Ben Martin; Mike Weir.

12:40 p.m. — Vaughn Taylor; Seung-Yul Noh; Vijay Singh.

12:50 p.m. — Matt Jones; Stuart Appleby; Paul Casey.

1 p.m. — Brendan Steele; Ricky Barnes; Steve Wheatcroft.

1:10 p.m. — Carl Pettersson; Tyrone Van Aswegen; Mark Hubbard.

1:20 p.m. — Colt Knost; Justin Hicks; Carlos Ortiz.

1:30 p.m. Hiroshi Iwata; Tyler Aldridge; Ryan Ruffels.

End Tee Times

Information from: RBC Heritage, Beaufort Gazette, Island Packet

How to play the Par 3 14th at the RBC Heritage

HILTON HEAD ISLAND — Last year, NBC Golf put out a guide on how to play the toughest hole in all of the PGA Tour.

I’m not sure if a guide was needed, since most balls end up in the water anyways.

Get a laugh a little at this.

%d bloggers like this: