Senior dies from meningitis just weeks before graduation

by jovan1984

18-year-old pupil originally complained of headache

madison-small-tnb

ASHBURN, Va. — An eighteen-year-old pupil just weeks from graduation passed away on Tuesday after she originally complained of a headache.

The Loudoun County Coroner’s Office revealed on Friday that Madison Small, 18, died from a rare infection, which inflames brain and spinal cord tissues, can be spread through respiratory and throat excretions, including kissing and sharing food.

It is highly contagious, the coroner’s office added.

“Our thoughts are with the family during this very difficult time,” said Dr. David Goodfriend, director of the Loudoun County Health Department.

Ms. Small’s surviving father, Tim, told the crowd at the vigil for his daughter to live every day like its their last, to appreciate their lives and that tomorrow is not promised.

Ms. Small was set to graduate in June and attend Virginia Tech in August.

New York Daily News

Chicago’s useful idiot sports talk jocks talks about colleague’s titties

CHICAGO — There were two boobs on display at a radio station in Cook County.

And we’re not talking about the only person working at the station with titties.

Two male jocks, both of whom decided to be boobs, made sexist and inappropriate remarks about Aiyana Cristal late last month.

“Aiyana Cristal makes me uncomfortable. I feel how hard she’s trying, and end up awkwardly rooting for her to finish clearly,” said Matt Spiegel, one of the two sexist dudebros at WSCR-AM.

“I have no rooting interest in her work, but enjoy her giant boobs,” said Dan Bernstein, the other sexist dudebro on the station.

“Boobs,” he later added.

“Seconded,” Spiegel wrote in reply.

Thankfully, women Twitter did Hone Claws and Slashed them for the comments.

Ms. Cristal talked about the cyberbullying, tweeting, “Progress has been made for women in sports but we still have a long way to go.”

“This incident serves as a gross reminder that women continue to fight every day to be treated equally,” she wrote Friday. “My female colleagues share my frustration in knowing the sports industry presents us with challenges of equality in an arena that is often filled with misogyny … Sexual harassment is never acceptable and as journalists we are all responsible for setting a better example when utilizing a platform that reaches the masses.”

Both men apologized the following week.

“I can acknowledge that the culture I work in is often not welcoming to women, and is sometimes downright exclusionary, mean, and objectifying. I can try to be a healthy part of the conversation, and not part of the problem,” wrote Mr. Spiegel, “… I have sexualized, perverse human thoughts like just about everyone else. I can be more considerate when they rise to the surface. And I can stay out of the sewer when it rises towards me.”

Bernstein apologized too, fessing up that “I’m an idiot.”

My tweet was childish, my tweet was crass and unnecessary and I’m sorry I dragged an innocent person into it who’s doing a job,” he said on his show. “I made an observation I shouldn’t have made.”

New York Daily News

